Chelsea’s starting lineup against Burnley

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Maurizio Sarri has recalled Jorginho in midfield after he was rested for the Europa League quarter-final win over Slavia Prague last week. Ruben Loftus-Cheek also comes back into the starting eleven while N’Golo Kante keeps his place so Mateo Kovacic and Ross Barkley drop to the bench.

Youngster Callum Hudson-Odoi is recalled in attack after being named on the bench last time out while Eden Hazard starts despite picking up a minor ankle knock during the Europa League tie. That means Willian must settle for a place on the bench once again while Pedro drops out despite scoring twice on Thursday night.

Olivier Giroud also makes way as Gonzalo Higuain is recalled up front while Chelsea go with Cesar Azpilicueta, David Luiz, Andreas Christensen and Emerson Palmeiri in the back four. Gary Cahill is named on the bench alongside Davide Zappacosta with Antonio Rudiger and Marcos Alonso injured.

As for Burnley, they go with Chris Wood and Ashley Barnes up front while Ashley Westwood keeps his place in midfield.

Here are the confirmed line-ups:

Kepa; Azpilicueta, Christensen, Luiz, Emerson; Kante, Jorginho, Loftus-Cheek; Hudson-Odoi, Higuain, Hazard

Subs: Caballero, Cahill, Kovacic, Zappacosta, Pedro, Barkley, Giroud

Heaton; Lowton, Tarkowski, Mee, Taylor; Hendrick, Westwood, Cork, McNeil; Wood, Barnes

Subs: Hart, Gibson, Long, Ward, Brady, Gudmundsson, Vydra


Sheetanshu is a computer science engineer, an MBA and an ardent soccer fan. He founded Limit Infinity back in 2015 with a group of few friends and has played a significant role in establishing soccer fan communities around the world. You can write to him at or connect with him using his LinkedIn profile.

Comments are closed.